Indian Agricultural Universities Association

Member Universities


The Assam Agricultural University was established on April 1, 1969. The broad mandates of the University are:

  • Making provision for imparting education to the people in agriculture and allied branches of learning
  • Furthering the advancement of learning and prosecution of research in agriculture and allied sciences, and
  • Undertaking the extension of such sciences especially to the rural people of the state.

The University has four faculties viz agricultural science, veterinary science, home science. Constituent colleges of Assam Agricultural University are,

College of Agriculture, Jorhat,
College of Home Science, Jorhat,
College of Veterinary Science, Khanapara, Guwahati,
Biswanath College of Agriculture, Biswanath Chariali,
Lakhimpur College of Veterinary Science, Lakhimpur,
College of Fisheries Science, Roha, Nagaon.

Till April 2002, the University has produced 10243 graduates. The University has a directorate of postgraduate studies to look into the academic matters related to the PG studies. Till April 2002, the University has produced 2563 postgraduates. The University has two Directorates of Research, viz., Directorate of Research (Agri) and Directorate of Research (Vety.). During the last three decades, the University has developed about 40 rice varieties. The university has a full-fledged Directorate of Extension Education with network of 4 Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs). The students' welfare activities of the entire university are coordinated by a Directorate of Students' Welfare.