Indian Agricultural Universities Association

The Indian Agricultural Universities Association

Indian Agricultural Universities Association (IAUA) was established on 10th November, 1967. The founder member agricultural universities (9 only) and their VCs were: founder president Dr P.N. Thapar, Vice Chancellor, Punjab Agricultural University, Chandigarh (now Ludhiana); and members Shri V. Pulla Reddy, Vice Chancellor, Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University, Hyderabad (now Acharya N G Ranga Agricultural University, Guntur); Dr. J.S. Patel, Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur; Dr. D.P. Singh, Vice Chancellor, Uttar Pradesh Agricultural University (now Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology), Pantnagar; Dr K.C. Naik, Vice Chancellor, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru; Dr. S.N. Das Gupta, Vice Chancellor, Kalyani University, Kalyani (now Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Mohanpur); Dr. K. Ramiah, Vice Chancellor, Orissa University of Agricultural & Technology, Bhubaneswar; Dr. G.S. Mahajani, Vice Chancellor, Udaipur University (now Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture & Technology), Udaipur; and Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, Director, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi.

The main objective of the Association is to promote agricultural research, education and extension in the universities and the states, and thereby rural development in the country. It also acts as a bureau of information to facilitate communication, co-ordination and mutual consultation among agricultural universities.

International Year of Millets (IYM 2023)
Read More

Present Executive Committee