JAMMU TAWI 180 004 (J&K)

Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences and Technology has two campuses, The Jammu campus has two faculties, Faculty of Agriculture which has 13 divisions, and Faculty of Veterinary Sciences and Animal Husbandry, which has 18 divisions. Besides undergraduate courses leading to the award of B. Sc. (Agric.) and B.V.Sc. degrees, university is offering M. Sc. programmed in six subjects and Ph. D. programme in all the subjects except floriculture.

To meet the local needs of the region in boosting the productivity in agriculture, animal husbandry and allied areas, university has two main research stations one each at R.S. Pura and Rajouri, three sub-research stations at Poonch, Bhaderwah and Raya. There is one horticulture research station at Udheywalla, Jammu. Under the centrally-sponsored schemes, there are three research stations, one each for dryland research at Dhiansar (Bari Brahmna), for water management at Pounichak and for pulse development at Samba, and each of these stations has specific mandates in research.

Directorate of extension education is engaged in the transfer of technology through Krishi Vigyan Kendra (Farm Science Centre) and other activities.

The new campus of the university is being developed at Chatha near civil airport on Satwari-Chatha road.