www.data-entry-india.com : Quality data entry outsourcing solutions. Suntec Web Services, New Delhi, India

Indian Agricultural Universities Association, (IAUA) is nearing to complete 50 years in 2017, as it was established on 10th November, 1967 (Registration no. 3489). There were only 9 founder member agricultural universities and their VC’s were: founder president Dr P.N. Thaper, VC, PAU, Chandigarh (now Ludhiana); and members Shri V. Pulla Reddy, VC, APAU (now ANGRAU), Hyderabad; Dr J.S. Patel, VC, JNKVV, Jabalpur; Shri D.P. Singh, VC, UPAU (now GBPUAT), Pantnagar; Dr K.C. Nair, VC, UAS, Bangaluru; Dr S.N. Das Gupta, VC, KU, Kalyani (now BCKV, Mohanpur); Dr K. Ramaiya, VC, OUAT, Bhubaneshwar; Dr G.S. Mahajani, VC, UU (now MPUAT), Udaipur; and Dr M.S. Swaminathan, director, IARI, New Delhi.

During this period there has been phenomenon increase in the number of agricultural universities. Till date we have 67 regular member universities, viz; (58 SAUs; 5 DUs (IARI, IVRI, NDRI, CIFE and SHIATS) and 4 CAUs (Imphal, BHU, Dr.RP Pusa, and RLB Jhansi). On specialization there are 42 Agricultural, 6 Horticultural; 15 Veterinary and Animal Sciences and 3 Fishery Science Universities. The numbers of events organized by IAUA from 1972 to 1999 during earlier 30 years were only 24 Annual VCs Conventions. And after December 1999 in past 16 years 39 events were organized i.e., 16 VC’s Conventions, 11 National Symposia, 6 Brain Storming Session, 6 Regional Committee Meetings.

The main objective of the Association is to promote agricultural research, education and extension in the universities and the states, and thereby rural development in the country. It also acts as a bureau of information to facilitate communication, co-ordination and mutual consultation among agricultural universities. The Association also acts as a liaison between member universities and government departments to facilitate communication and expedite the needed action in matters of importance.

All the SAUs and institutions (deemed-to-be universities) and (Central Agricultural Universities) in India, which provide an integrated programme of teaching, research and extension education in agricultural sciences are qualified to become regular members of the Association.

Vice-Chancellors of member universities constitute the Association’s General Body. The General Body meets once a year to decide the agenda for the next convention and other events and also for adoption of its audited accounts of the year and approval of budget estimates for the next financial year, besides the election of the office-bearers for the following calendar year. The Executive Committee of the Association consists of President, Vice-President, Secretary-General, Treasurer and three members. The Executive Committee meets quarterly.

The office of the Association is manned by Executive Secretary, who implements the decisions of General Body and Executive Committee on behalf of the Association. A quarterly newsletter is also being published by the Association since 2000, giving important news, events and achievements by member universities for the information of all the members and others interested. An Annual report is also published documenting all the activities of the year.

The information on events proceedings are published through the host universities and the recommendations are also included in website (www.iauaindia.org) and circulated to all the VCs of member universities and other main stake holders.

The main source of revenue of the Association is the annual subscription from member universities. The ICAR also provides a nominal grant annually.

www.data-entry-india.com : Quality data entry outsourcing solutions. Suntec Web Services, New Delhi, India

Dr. N.C. Patel, President, IAUA (2018)

  • Dr. N.C. Patel
  • Vice-Chancellor
  • Anand Agricultural University
  • Anand – 388 110 (Gujarat)

Prof. (Dr.) R.P. Singh, Executive Secretary, IAUA

  • Prof (Dr) R.P. Singh
  • Executive Secretary,
  • Indian Agricultural Universities Association
  • IG-2, CGIAR Block, NASC, Pusa Campus,
  • Dev Prakash Shastri Marg,
  • New Delhi – 110012
Designed by Technoscore, a division of Suntec India, website design and development company in India